|State||Renewal Cycle||CE Requirements for Dentists||Notes||State Governing Agency||Online Limit|
|Alabama||The required hours must be completed in the twelve (12) month period beginning October 1 of each year and ending September 30 of the next year.||Dentists shall complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education every year as a condition of licensure.||Dentists must maintain current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level through the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or an equivalent program. Dentists must achieve a minimum of one (1) hour of Continuing Education in the subject of infectious disease control every two (2) years. Dentists must achieve a minimum of one (1) hour of Continuing Education in the subject of prescribing controlled substances every two (2) years.||Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama|
|Alaska||Current Expiration 02/28/2023||An applicant for renewal of a dentistry license shall submit evidence of continued professional competence by documenting completion of at least 32 contact hours of continuing education.||Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification that meets the requirements of 12 AAC 28.920 If the applicant holds a valid federal Drug Enforcement Administration registration number, verification that the applicant has completed not less than two hours of continuing education in pain management and opioid use and addiction.||Alaska Board of Dental Examiners Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing|
|Arizona||Effective date of 1/1/2022, the new law amends the expiration date of all dental licenses from 6/30 every three years to the licensee's birthday every three years.||Dentists and dental consultants shall complete 72 hours of recognized continuing dental education in each renewal period.||At least three credit hours in chemical dependency, which may include tobacco cessation; At least three credit hours in infectious diseases or infectious disease control; At least three credit hours in CPR healthcare provider, ACLS and PALS. Coursework may be completed online if the course requires a physical demonstration of skills; and At least three credit hours in ethics or Arizona dental jurisprudence.||Arizona State Board of Dental Examiners|
|Arkansas||The first reporting period will begin January 1, 1994 and end December 31, 1995. Each reporting period will start on an even numbered year.||The requirement for minimum continuing education for Arkansas licensed dentists will be fifty (50) CEUs for every two (2) year reporting period.||
At least 1 CE hour in each 2-year reporting period must be on the subject of the infection control.
Each licensed dentist, dental hygienist, and registered dental assistant must take a Healthcare Provider level of cardiopulmonary resuscitation course
|Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners|
|California||Biennial - last day of month of birth||All Dentists in the State of California who wish to maintain an active license are required to complete 50 hours of continuing education for license renewal.||Basic Life Support (BLS) course provided by the American Red Cross (ARC), American Heart Association (AHA), or a provider approved by PACE or CERP. A maximum of 4 credits will be awarded for completion of this course. Online courses will not be accepted for the BLS requirement. The course must include a live, in-person skills practice session, a skills test and a written examination.
California Infection Control – This course must be 2-units and be taken through a Registered Provider approved by the Board to offer this mandatory course.
California Dental Practice Act – This course must be 2-units and be taken through a Registered Provider approved by the Board to offer this mandatory course.
|Dental Board of California|
|Colorado||February of even years||Every Dentist and Dental Hygienist, as a condition of renewing, reactivating or reinstating a license must obtain at least 30 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years||
Current Basic Life Support (BLS) for healthcare providers is required of all licensees and all licensees will receive a maximum of 2 hours continuing education credit
Every Dentist and Academic Dentist, regardless of the date of licensure, is required to complete at least one (1) hour of training per renewal period in order to demonstrate competency pertaining to:
|Colorado Dental Board|
|Connecticut||Most licenses expire in the first birth month following issuance and are renewable annually thereafter.||Licensed dentists shall earn a minimum of twenty-five contact hours of qualifying continuing education every two years.||
The continuing education shall (1) be in an area of the licensee's practice; (2) reflect the professional needs of the licensee in order to meet the health care needs of the public; and (3) include not less than one contact hour of training or education in (A) any three of the ten mandatory topics for continuing education activities prescribed by the Commissioner, (B) for registration periods beginning on and after October 1, 2016, infection control in a dental setting, and (C) prescribing controlled substances and pain management.
The ten (10) mandatory topics for continuing education activities prescribed by the Commissioner are: Prescribing controlled substances and pain management; Record keeping/risk management,; Infection control; Access to care; HIPAA compliance; Medical emergencies in the dental office (including current training in CPR); Sexual assault and domestic abuse; Cultural competence; Mental health conditions common to veterans; and Diagnostic technology.
|Connecticut State Dental Commission Department of Public Health|
|Delaware||Renewal period between June 1 and May 31 even-numbered years||Active Dentist or Dentist Academic licensees must complete 50 hours of approved Continuing Professional Education (CPE)||
At least 2 of the required CPE hours must be from a course covering infection control.
In addition to the CPE, all licensees must provide evidence that they have successfully completed a current course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).
|Delaware Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene|
|District of Columbia||Renewal period ends December 31 of odd years||Dentists shall submit proof pursuant to § 4206.9 of having completed twenty-five (25) hours of credit||
Current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification for health care providers (“CPR certification”)
Four (4) hours of infection control in approved continuing education programs within the two-year (2) period preceding the date the license expires.
Two (2) hours of continuing education on cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on patients or clients who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, gender nonconforming, queer, or question their sexual orientation or gender identity and expression (“LGBTQ”) meeting the requirements of D.C. Official Code § 3-1205.10 (b)(5)
|District of Columbia Board of Dentistry|
|Florida||Licensed Dentists are required to renew their license no later than midnight, Eastern Time, on February 28 of even years.||Active Dentists must complete 30 hours of approved Continuing Education (CE)||
During the licensure biennial renewal period that begins on March 1, 2020 and every licensure biennial renewal period thereafter, all dentists who hold an active sedation permit of any level shall take the following continuing education instead of the continuing education required in subsection (1): A four (4) hour board approved continuing education course in Medical Emergencies that shall include airway management as a component of the course.
1 hour continuing education course on human trafficking.
2 hours Medical Error
2 Hours Domestic Violence (due every third biennium)
2 hours HIV/AIDS (due for first renewal only)
2 hours - Safe and Effective Prescribing or controlled substances -Effective July 1, 2019, required for all dentists at every renewal.
|Florida Board of Dentistry|
|Georgia||Licenses shall expire at the close of December 31 in all odd-numbered years||Dentists licensed to practice in the state of Georgia shall complete a minimum of forty (40) hours of continuing education during each biennium.||
Four (4) credit hours for successful completion of CPR
Effective for the 2019 renewal year, one (1) hour of the minimum requirement shall include the impact of opioid abuse and/or the proper prescription writing and use of opioids in dental practice
|Georgia Board of Dentistry|
|Hawaii||Licenses for dentists and dental hygienists expire on December 31 of each odd-numbered year||Dentists are required to complete 38 CE hours (32 hours of CE in approved categories pursuant to Hawaii Administrative Rules (“HAR”) §16-79-141||
Max four (4) hours CE of Required Basic Life Support (“BLS”) for Healthcare Providers course
After January 1, 2018, each licensed dentist shall complete at least six (6) hours of ethics training per licensing biennium, regardless of the date of initial licensure.
A dentist administering general anesthesia or moderate sedation shall be required to complete the Advance Cardiac Life Support (“ACLS”) course or if treating pediatric patients, the Pediatric Advanced Life Support (“PALS”) course
|Hawaii Board of Dentistry|
|Idaho||To renew a dental license, each licensee shall submit a properly completed renewal application and the appropriate biennial license fee to the board prior to September 30 of every even-numbered calendar year||Dentists are required to complete 30 hours of CE||One (1) hour must be related to opioid prescribing||Idaho Board of Dentistry|
|Illinois||A prerenewal period is the 36 months preceding September 30 of the year of the renewal.||Each person who applies for renewal of a license as a dentist shall have completed 48 hours of continuing education (CE) relevant to the practice of dentistry during the prerenewal period.||A dentist or dental hygienist shall provide proof of current Basic Life Support (BLS) certification intended for health care providers at the time of renewal||Illinois Department of Professional Regulation|
|Indiana||Dentist's licenses expire on March 1st of even numbered years. The next renewal date is March 1, 2022||Dentists are required to have completed twenty (20) hours of continuing education||
Effective July 1st, 2019, pursuant to Senate Enrolled Act 225-2018, a practitioner who is licensed by a board and applies for registration or re-registration to distribute or dispense a controlled substance must have completed two (2) hours of continuing education addressing the topic of opioid prescribing and opioid abuse.
They are also required to complete a two (2) hour course which covers Ethics, Professional Responsibility and the Indiana Statutes and Administrative Rules per renewal period
In order to renew a permit to administer general anesthesia, deep sedation, or light parenteral conscious sedation, a dentist shall obtain five (5) hours of continuing education in every license period in the area of anesthesia
|Indiana State Board of Dentistry|
|Iowa||All dental licenses and faculty permits expire on August 31 of every even-numbered year||Dentists and Dental Hygienists: 30 Hours required every 2 years||
CPR Required for renewal – can claim up to 3 hours
Infection Control - Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of infection control standards as required by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Iowa Jurisprudence - Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years
Abuse Identification and Reporting Training -Effective July 1, 2019, licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa, must complete training through the Department of Human Services and renew the training every 3 years thereafter. Prior to July 1, 2019, the training was valid for 5 years.
Opioids - Dentists who prescribe opioids to patients must complete a minimum of 1 hour of CE in the area of opioids.
Sedation - 6 hours for persons with a deep sedation/general anesthesia or moderate (conscious) sedation permit. Please note: This CE requirement does not apply to local anesthesia permit holders.
|Iowa Dental Board|
|Kansas||All even numbered licensees will renew in even numbered years. All odd numbered licensees will renew in odd numbered years. The license renewal period is from October 1 to December 1||All dentists will need 60 hours of CE since December 1st of the last renewal||
Two (2) hour of ethics
Up to 4 hours in CPR training may be used toward your CE renewal requirement
|Kansas Dental Board|
|Kentucky||All dental licenses issued by the Kentucky Board of Dentistry expire on December 31 of odd numbered years.||All dentists and dental hygienists are required to earn 30 hours of continuing education during their two-year license period.||
All licensed dentists in Kentucky must complete 3 hours of continuing education related to electronic prescription monitoring, pain management or addiction disorders
Sedation Permit Holders (Minimal Pediatric Sedation, Moderate Enteral Sedation, Moderate Parenteral Sedation, or Moderate Pediatric Sedation) are required to complete not less than 6 hours of clinical continuing education related to sedation or anesthesia
Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia permit holders shall complete not less than 4 hours of on-sight clinical continuing education related to sedation or anesthesia during the two year term
|Kentucky Board of Dentistry|
|Louisiana||All nonrestricted licenses shall be renewed biennially and will expire on December 31 of each calendar year of the renewal period||Each dentist shall complete a minimum of 30 hours of continuing education during each renewal period||
3 of the 30 hours must include an opioid management course which includes training on drug diversion, best practice prescribing of controlled substances or appropriate treatment for addiction. Successful completion of this three-hour requirement once during a dentist’s career shall satisfy this requirement in full.
Dentists will be awarded three clinical credit hours for successful completion of cardiopulmonary resuscitation course “C”, basic life support for healthcare providers as defined by the American Heart Association or the Red Cross professional rescue course
|Louisiana State Board of Dentistry||10 hours of clinical courses pertaining to the actual delivery of dental services to patients that may be done in person, online or via correspondence; if done online or via correspondence the courses must require the successful completion of a written examination at the conclusion of the course;|
|Maine||The biennial license term begins January 1 of even numbered years and ends December 31st of odd numbered years.||Dentists, Faculty Dentists, and Limited Dentists: Forty (40) Credit Hours Required for License Renewal||
Current CPR certification
As a condition of prescribing opioid medication, at least 3 of the 40 credit hours of continuing education must be earned on the prescription of opioid medication
As a condition of holding a sedation permit issued by the Board, at least 6 of the 40 credit hours of continuing education must be earned in sedation and/or anesthesia, physical diagnosis, complications, and techniques
|Maine Board of Dental Practice||
No more than ten (10) credit hours can be claimed in any one activity or any combination of activities listed below:
(4) Pre-recorded audio/video; independent study. A licensee may claim continuing education credit only once for a particular audiotape/disk, videotape/disk or course of independent study.
(5) Distance learning without exit examination. A licensee may claim continuing education credit for distance learning activities such as online courses and webinars in which an exit examination was not taken.
|Maryland||The period for completing continuing education requirements extends for a 2-year period from January 1 through December 31 of the following year||A licensee seeking renewal shall complete not less than 30 full hours of continuing education||
A licensee shall maintain cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification
2 hours of infection control for each renewal cycle
2-hour Board-approved course on the Proper Prescribing and Disposal of Prescription Drugs. Must be completed by dentists every other renewal cycle
2-hour Board-approved course on Abuse and Neglect as it Relates to Maryland Law. Must be completed by dentists and dental hygienists every other renewal cycle. The course must contain a Maryland law component
|Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners|
|Massachusetts||Dentists must have their CEUs completed by March 31st in even-numbered years||Dentists must complete a minimum of 40 CEUs each 2-year renewal cycle||
A licensee shall complete continuing education as a condition precedent to the biennial renewal of a license in the following areas: (a) CDC Guidelines; and (b) Continuous certification in CPR/AED, or BLS
As amended on March 14, 2016, MGL c. 94C, s. 18(e), states that all prescribers, upon initial application for a Massachusetts license to practice dentistry and subsequently during each license renewal period, must complete education relative to:
Please note that MGL 94C, Section 18(e) does not specify a minimum number of contact hours to comply with this education requirement.
|Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry|
|Michigan||Dentistry licenses expire every 3 years||Every dentist is required to complete, during the 3-year period prior to the date of application for renewal of the license, not less than 60 hours of continuing education||
All dentists, beginning with the 2020 renewal cycle, and all renewal cycles thereafter, are required to have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking. Please note this is a one-time training that is separate from continuing education.
Must complete 3 hours of board approved continuing education in pain and symptom management related to the practice of dentistry. CE hours may include, but are not limited to, courses in behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interactions.
Must possess current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life support
|Michigan Board Of Dentistry|
|Minnesota||The initial cycle for each licensee begins on the date of initial licensure and ends on the last day of the licensee's birth month in either an even-numbered or odd-numbered year that corresponds with the licensee's year of birth. A biennial professional development cycle coincides with the biennial licensure periods for each dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, or licensed dental assistant. Each biennial renewal cycle consists of a 24-month period beginning on the first day of the month following expiration of the previous professional development cycle.||Dentists must complete 50 total hours every 2 years (30 Minimum Fundamental Hours and 20 max Elective Hours)||
Licensees must maintain continuous CPR certification. Course must be a healthcare provider level course (BLS) taken through only the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association.
Each licensee must complete an infection control course during each biennial cycle period.
The self-assessment is based on the core subject areas. This activity is required for each biennial cycle and is worth one (1) fundamental credit.
All dentists who prescribe controlled substances must obtain two (2) hours of CE on best practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances
|Minnesota Board of Dentistry|
|Mississippi||The reporting period is two (2) years. At its 02/01/2013 meeting, the Board amended item number 1 of Board Regulation 41 to stipulate that the continuing education reporting period runs from January 1 through December 31 of each year, i.e., the reporting period was changed from a renewal based cycle to a calendar year based cycle.This change in the continuing education reporting period went into effect 01/01/2014||Dentists must obtain a minimum of forty (40) hours of continuing education for the two-year cycle.||
Every dentist who prescribes, administers, or dispenses any controlled substance within the State of Mississippi, or who proposes to engage in the prescribing, administering, or dispensing of any controlled substance within the State of Mississippi, shall be required to obtain three (3) hours of continuing education every two (2) years regarding the prescription of opioids
No more than four (4) hours per year on the subject of CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation) shall be allowed toward the two-year, forty-hour requirement
|Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners|
|Missouri||A two (2)-year period with starting dates of December 1 of even years, through November 30 of even years||In order to renew a license, each dentist shall submit satisfactory evidence of completion of fifty (50) hours of continuing education during the two (2)-year period immediately preceding the renewal period||Missouri Dental Board|
|Montana||Starting April 15, 2015, licensees shall complete continuing education within a three-year renewal cycle||Dentists are required to complete 60 credit hours every 3 years||Montana Board of Dentistry|
|Nebraska||On or before March 1 of each odd-numbered year, a dentist must complete continuing education||Renewal of your license requires 30 hours of acceptable continuing education earned during the preceding 24-month period prior to the license expiration date||
A minimum of 2 hours in a renewal period must be obtained in infection control continuing education
If the licensee prescribes controlled substances, continuing education that meets the requirements set in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-145
A minimum of 6 hours in a renewal period must be obtained in general anesthesia or sedation administration and management for the dental office continuing education for licensees holding any level of sedation permit
|Nebraska Board of Dentistry|
|Nevada||All renewals must be submitted to the Board office on/before June 30 of odd years||Each dentist licensed to practice in the State of Nevada must annually complete at least 20 hours of instruction in approved courses of continuing education or biennially complete at least 40 hours of instruction in approved courses of continuing education||
A dentist who is registered to dispense controlled substances must complete at least 2 hours of training relating specifically to the misuse and abuse of controlled substances, the prescribing of opioids or addiction during each period of licensure
A dentist must annually complete at least 2 hours in the clinical subject of infection control or biennially complete at least 4 hours
Each licensee must complete a course of instruction, within 2 years after initial licensure, relating to the medical consequences of an act of terrorism that involves the use of a weapon of mass destruction.
|Nevada State Board of Dental Examiners|
|New Hampshire||Biennially of even years, each active dentist shall submit to the board before April 1 a summary of continuing education indicating that the required number of CEUs were completed||All dentists with an active New Hampshire license shall complete a minimum of 40 CEUs of continuing education per biennium||
At least 2 CEUs shall be earned in infection control in a live or online course which includes the Center for Disease Control Prevention and Control Guidelines and Recommendations in its syllabus
Starting April 1, 2020, at least 2 CEUs shall be earned in Medical Emergency Training.
Dentists who have a DEA # associated with New Hampshire and who prescribe Schedule II-IV controlled substances, shall complete 3 CEUs of board-approved continuing education or pass an online examination per biennium, in the area of pain management and addiction disorder or a combination, as a condition for initial licensure and license renewal
|New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners||A licensee shall receive credit for up to 50% of the required CEUs by participating in audio-visual or online programs or live webinars which require the successful completion of a written examination by the licensee to be scored by the provider of such programs.|
|New Jersey||Dentist licenses are renewed every two years, on November 1 of odd-numbered years||All licensed dentists holding active licenses shall submit a certification verifying completion of 40 hours of continuing dental education every two years at the time of registration renewal||The New Jersey State Board of Dentistry shall require that the number of credits of continuing dental education required of each person licensed as a dentist, as a condition of biennial registration include one credit of educational programs or topics concerning prescription opioid drugs, including responsible prescribing practices, alternatives to opioids for managing and treating pain, and the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion
Two hours of continuing education in preventing and controlling infectious diseases and managing personnel health and safety concerns related to infection control in dental settings. Examples of such education include: modes of disease transmission and the chain of infection; strategies that can prevent occupational exposures to blood and bodily fluids; methods to ensure that patient-care items and environmental surfaces are safe for use; selection and use of safe dental devices and dental water quality assurance and practice monitoring; and evaluation of dental infection control programs
|New Jersey State Board of Dentistry|
|New Mexico||After the initial license period, licenses expire every three years on June 30||Dentists: 60 hours of continuing education are required during each triennial renewal cycle||
At least 1 hour of INFECTION CONTROL
Current CPR/BLS (cannot be on-line)
Any dentist who holds a federal drug enforcement administration registration to prescribe controlled substances, shall be required to complete and submit three CEUS in pain management
|New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care||Dentists: A max of 30 hrs can be online, webinars or self study.|
|New York||Each licensed dentist is required to register triennially with the department to practice in New York and shall comply with the provisions of the mandatory continuing education requirements||New York State Education Law requires dentists to complete 60 contact hours of continuing education in each three-year registration period||
Dentists and dental hygienists must also complete a State approved infection control course every 4 years
All dentists must achieve certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
During your first registration period after January 1, 2002, you must complete on a one-time basis, a two-hour course regarding the oral health effects of tobacco and tobacco products
During your first registration period which begins on or after January 1, 2008, you are required to complete, on a one-time basis, a State approved course in dental jurisprudence and ethics
|New York Office of the Professions Dentistry|
|North Carolina||The one-year period spans one calendar year (January to December being a calendar year)||Every year, dentists must complete 15 hours of continuing education||
All dentists licensed after January 1, 2019 are required to take a six-hour course on Professionalism and Ethics
Both dentists and hygienists are required to maintain current CPR
|North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners|
|North Dakota||Renewal deadline for all dentists and dental hygienists is December 31st of ODD numbered years||Dentists are required to take 32 hours of continuing education during each biennial renewal cycle||
A cardiopulmonary resuscitation course; webinar CPR courses must have a hands-on component.
A minimum of two hours of infection control education.
A minimum of two hours of ethics and/or jurisprudence.
General anesthesia and moderate or minimal sedation permit holders must include four hours related to sedation or anesthesia.
|North Dakota Board of Dental Examiners|
|Ohio||Each person who is licensed to practice dentistry in Ohio shall, on or before the first day of January of each even-numbered year, register with the state dental board||Licensed dentists are required to obtain continuing education 40 hours of CE in order to renew their Ohio licenses||Mandatory opioid prescribing education - continuing education experiences pertaining to the prescribing of opioids for acute, subacute and chronic pain. The licensee must obtain a minimum of two (2) hours of continuing education in this category||Ohio State Dental Board|
Effective January 1, 2020 the CE hours will be changing to the following:
The reporting period is changing from a 3 year reporting period to a 2 year. The current reporting period is July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2021
Effective January 1, 2020 the CE hours will be changing to the following:
Dentist - Will need to complete 40 hrs instead of 60
Below are required:
2 hrs of Opioid
|Oklahoma Board of Dentistry|
|Oregon||A licensure year for dentists is April 1 through March 31.||Each dentist must complete 40 hours of continuing education every two years||
Three (3) hours of medical emergencies every renewal cycle
Two (2) hours of infection control (Please note, if using OSHA your certificate must delineate the difference in hours between OSHA and infection control) every renewal cycle.
Effective January 1, 2021, all licensees are required to complete at least two hours of continuing education related to cultural competency.
All licensees are required to maintain at a minimum a current Healthcare Provider BLS/CPR or equivalent certification.
All dentists licensed by the OBD will complete a one-hour pain management course specific to Oregon provided by the Oregon Pain Commission of the Oregon Health Authority.
|Oregon Board of Dentistry|
|Pennsylvania||Licenses expire on March 31 of each odd-numbered year, regardless of the date of issuance||A Dentist shall complete 30 hours of continuing education credit hours during the preceding biennial period||Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry|
|Rhode Island||Effective beginning in the calendar year 2006, every dentist, dental hygienist, or DAANCE-certified maxillofacial surgery assistant licensed to practice within the state of Rhode Island, on or before the first day of May in each even numbered year, shall apply to the Rhode Island board of examiners in dentistry for a biennial license with the board||All dentists licensed to practice in Rhode Island shall maintain evidence that in the preceding two (2) years he or she has satisfactorily completed at least forty (40) hours of continuing dental education courses||
All dentists practicing in a dental setting shall receive a minimum of one (1) hour per year of training on the CDC Infection Control Guidelines
All dentists practicing in a dental setting shall hold a current certificate of completion from an approved course in Basic Life Support (BLS) for Healthcare Providers that includes a hands-on skill component and conforms to the current American Heart Association Guidelines Update for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Emergency Cardiovascular Care (ECC), and is offered by any accredited agency approved by the Board
|Rhode Island Board of Examiners in Dentistry|
|South Carolina||Continuing education (CE) is a requirement of renewal per S.C. Regulation 39-5(F). Licensees renewing for the first time are exempt from the CE requirements. Current CE cycle is January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022||All dentists will need twenty-eight (28) hours of continuing education (CE) completed for biennial renewal||
Two (2) hours must be sterilization and infection control
If a licensee is authorized to prescribe controlled substances two (2) hours of the twenty-eight (28) hours must be in prescribing and monitor of controlled substances
CPR recertification must be completed once every three years
|South Carolina Board of Dentistry||Of the required twenty-eight (28) hours, no more than half of the required CE hours can be attained through online or computerized courses. Interactive webinars are considered live or in-person CE hours and not subject to the fifty percent (50%) restriction.|
|South Dakota||Every five years of licensure or registration, each licensee or registrant shall provide the board evidence, of a nature suitable to the board that a licensee or registrant has attended, or participated in an amount of board approved continuing education or continuing competency as shall be required by the board||Dentists must earn 100 hours of continuing education in every 5-year CE cycle||
Dentists must maintain a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) card
A Dentist holding a general anesthesia and deep sedation or moderate sedation permit must complete an additional 25 hours of continuing education in anesthesia related topics for each five-year licensure cycle
|South Dakota State Board of Dentistry|
|Tennessee||Dentists are required to complete continuing education during the two calendar year cycle (January 1 of an odd year - December 31 of an even year)||Dentists are all required to fulfill 40 hours of continuing education during the two calendar year cycle||
A minimum of 2 of the required 40 biennial hours must be obtained in the area of prescribing of controlled substances education which includes instruction in the TN Chronic Pain Guidelines
Dentists who hold a Limited Conscious Sedation, Comprehensive Conscious Sedation or Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia permit must also complete a minimum of 4 hours of the required 40 biennial hours in the subject of sedation and/or anesthesia
|Tennessee Board of Dentistry|
|Texas||The expiration date will be based on the licensee's birth month and will be staggered to a biennial renewal affecting licensees due to renew by 10/31/2018 and there after||All Texas licensees holding an active license to practice in Texas must biennially collect a minimum of twenty four (24) hours of appropriate continuing education||
Beginning September 1, 2020, each dentist who is permitted by DEA to prescribe controlled substances must complete two (2) CE hours related to approved procedures of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances
Level 1: Minimal Sedation must complete six (6) hours on the administration of or medical emergencies associated with the permitted level of sedation.
Level 2 & 3: Moderate Sedation must complete eight (8) hours on the administration of or medical emergencies associated with the permitted level of sedation.
Level 4: Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia must complete twelve (12) hours on the administration of or medical emergencies associated with the permitted level of sedation.
|Texas State Board of Dental Examiners||Please be advised that your in-classroom setting CE hours can be completed as Live Interactive Webinars (you can ask and answer questions) through one of our board approved providers.|
|Utah||Utah Dental and Dental Hygienist licenses renew every two years, on May 31 of even-numbered years||All licensed dentists and dental hygienists shall complete 30 hours of qualified continuing professional education during each two year period of licensure||Utah Board of Dentistry|
|Vermont||Vermont Dental licenses expire every two years, on September 30 of odd-numbered years||A dentist must document completion of 30 hours professional education during the two-year licensing period preceding renewal||
CE shall include emergency office procedures
Licensees with a registration number from the DEA, or who dispense controlled substances, shall complete at least two (2) hours of continuing education as a condition of license renewal, on the topics of:
|Vermont Board of Dental Examiners|
|Virginia||Prior to 2022, an active or inactive dental license shall be renewed on or before March 31 each year. Beginning in January 2022, an active or inactive dental license shall be renewed in the licensee's birth month each year||A dentist and a dental hygienist is required to complete a minimum of 15 hours of approved continuing education for each annual license renewal||
A dentist shall maintain current training certification in basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation with hands-on airway training for health care providers or basic life support
A dentist who administers or monitors patients under general anesthesia, deep sedation, or moderate sedation shall complete four (4) hours every two years of approved continuing education directly related to administration and monitoring of such anesthesia or sedation
Any dentist who prescribes Schedules II, III, and IV controlled substances shall obtain two hours of continuing education on pain management every two years
|Virginia Board of Dentistry|
|Washington||The three-year continuing education reporting period for a dentist licensed in Washington before 2019 begins January 1, 2019, and verification of completion of continuing education hours will be due on the dentist's annual license renewal date in 2022, and every three years thereafter. The three-year continuing education reporting period for a dentist initially licensed in Washington in 2019 or later begins upon date of licensure||A licensed dentist shall complete a minimum of sixty-three (63) hours of continuing education every three years||Washington State Department of Health|
|West Virginia||Each dentist and dental hygienist shall submit to the Board by February 1, 2018, and every two years thereafter documentation of satisfactory completion of the required hours of continuing education during the previous two years||Each licensed dentist shall complete biennially not less than 35 hours of continuing education.||
Licensed dentists shall complete at least 3 hours of continuing education regarding drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training and training on prescribing and administration of an opioid antagonist and shall be reported beginning with the February 1, 2018 reporting deadline. These requirements may be waived for a licensed dentist who has not prescribed, administered, or dispensed a controlled substance during the reporting period
At least 2 hours of continuing education shall be related to any one or combination of the following subjects during each continuing education reporting period:
A current certification for a comprehensive basic life support course for a health care provider that includes: resuscitation on an adult, child, and infant; two-person rescuer; barrier mask or bag for ventilation; foreign body airway obstruction; and automated external defibrillation
Class 2 anesthesia certificate holders must complete at least 6 hours of continuing education credits and class 3 and class 4 anesthesia permit holders must complete 16 hours of credits in one or more of the following areas:
|West Virginia Board of Dentistry|
|Wisconsin||Dentists shall renew by October 1 of the odd-numbered year following initial licensure and every 2 years thereafter||A dentist shall complete 30 credit hours of continuing education related to the practice of dentistry or the practice of medicine during the 2−year period immediately preceding the renewal date||Continuing education shall include two (2) hours in the topic of responsible prescribing of controlled substances for the treatment of acute dental pain||State of Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board|
|Wyoming||With the new rules signed effective December 9, 2019, the new two year CE period will commence January 1, 2020. CE for this period will be due December 31, 2021. Thereafter, CE will be due every two years on odd years||Sixteen (16) hours are due every two years||If you are a dentist, 3 of those 16 hours MUST be related to the responsible prescribing of controlled substances||Wyoming Board of Dental Examiners|
*Last Updated - 3/6/2023