State CE Requirements for RDHs
State Renewal Cycle CE Requirements for RDHs Notes State Governing Agency Online Limit
Alabama Learn More The required hours must be completed in the twelve (12) month period beginning October 1 of each year and ending September 30 of the next year. Dental Hygienists shall complete twelve (12) hours of continuing education every year as a condition of licensure renewal. Dental hygienists must maintain current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level through the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or an equivalent program. Dental hygienists must achieve a minimum of one (1) hour of Continuing Education in the subject of infectious disease control every two (2) years. The combined number of hours of continuing education training in the course areas of insurance, governmental regulations, and tort liability and/or risk management shall not exceed a total of four (4) hours for the annual renewal period Practice management courses shall not exceed a total of three (3) hours for the annual renewal period. New as of October 1, 2023: 1 hour per year of Ethical Considerations in the practice of Dentistry Half of total credits must be face-to-face. Zoom live webinars are not considered in-person training.
Alaska Learn More March 1, 2023- February 28, 2025 An applicant for renewal of a dental hygienist license shall submit evidence of continued professional competence by documenting completion of at least 20 contact hours of continuing education Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification that meets the requirements of 12 AAC 28.920. An applicant for renewal of a dental hygienist restorative function endorsement under 12 AAC 28.780 shall submit evidence of continued competence by documenting an additional two hours of continuing education relating to materials or techniques used for the restoration of teeth. Not more than eight hours of continuing education taken through the Internet in a 24-hour period may apply to meet the continuing education hours required by 12 AAC 28.400 or 12 AAC 28.405.
Arizona Learn More Effective date of 1/1/2022, the new law amends the expiration date of all dental licenses from 6/30 every three years to the licensee's birthday every three years. A dental hygienist shall complete 45 credit hours of Recognized Continuing Dental Education in each renewal period. At least 3 credit hours in one or more of the following areas: chemical dependency, tobacco cessation, ethics, risk management, or Arizona dental jurisprudence. At least 3 credit hours in infectious diseases or infectious disease control. At least 3 credit hours in cardiopulmonary resuscitation healthcare provider level (CPR) advanced cardiac life support and pediatric advanced life support. For live and online courses - as long as the course is provided in real time and you cannot take a break and come back and proceed through the course where you left off, then it's considered a "live" course. The real key terms are self-study and live. You are prevented from taking more than the limited hours (no more than 15 hours for Dental Hygienists) of self-study, but you are not prevented from taking as many virtual, online or in-person courses as long as they are in real time (live) and you are unable to stop/pause the instruction and finish the instruction later.
Arkansas Learn More The first reporting period will begin January 1, 1994 and end December 31, 1995. Each reporting period will start on an even numbered year. The requirement for minimum continuing education for Arkansas licensed dental hygienists will be forty (40) CEUs for every two (2) year reporting period. At least 1 CE hour in each 2-year reporting period must be on the subject of the infection control. Each licensed dentist, dental hygienist, and registered dental assistant must take a Healthcare Provider level of cardiopulmonary resuscitation course Home study courses which include a post-test and the issuance of a certificate of completion will be accepted.
California Learn More Licenses expire on the last day of the birth month of the licensee every two years. If the licensee's birth year is an even number, his or her license will expire during even-numbered years. If the licensee's birth year is an odd number, his or her license will expire during odd-numbered years. In the State of California, registered dental hygienists (RDH) are required by law to complete continuing education units (RDH, RDH in extended functions - 25 units, RDH in alternative practice - 35 units) As a condition of renewal, all licensees are required to complete continuing education as follows: Mandatory courses required by the Board for license renewal include: A Board-approved course in Infection Control, a Board-approved course in the California Dental Practice Act and completion of certification in Basic Life Support. Of the required continuing education units, non-live instruction such as recorded courses, home study materials, non-live webinars where interaction does not occur, etc. shall not exceed 50% of the total required units. Courses must be taken through a continuing education provider recognized by the Dental Board of California, the American Dental Association’s Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP) or the Academy of General Dentistry’s Program Approval for Continuing Education (PACE). Of the required continuing education units, non-live instruction such as recorded courses, home study materials, non-live webinars where interaction does not occur, etc. shall not exceed 50% of the total required units.
Colorado Learn More February of even years Every Dentist and Dental Hygienist, as a condition of renewing, reactivating or reinstating a license must obtain at least 30 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years Current Basic Life Support (BLS) for healthcare providers is required of all licensees and all licensees will receive a maximum of 2 hours continuing education credit At least 50% of the required CE hours must be live and interactive. This may include web-based courses. Interaction meeting this requirement includes the opportunity and ability for course participants to ask questions in real-time, and for the instructor to answer participant questions in real-time.
Connecticut Learn More Most licenses expire in the first birth month following issuance and are renewable annually thereafter. Most licensees can expect to receive renewal notification approximately 60 days prior to expiration Each licensed dental hygienist applying for license renewal shall earn a minimum of sixteen hours of continuing education within the preceding twenty-four-month period. Dental hygienists must complete at least one hour of training or education in infection control in a dental setting and for registration periods beginning on and after October 1, 2017, one contact hour in cultural competency. Internet-based, on-line and other distance learning opportunities are acceptable.
Delaware Learn More Renewal period between June 1 and May 31 even-numbered years Active Dental Hygienists must complete 24 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) At least 2 of the required CPE hours must be from a course covering infection control. In addition to the CPE, all licensees must provide evidence that they have successfully completed a current course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). In addition to the maximum of five (5) hours which may be satisfied by self-study without testing, a maximum of ten (10) hours of the total twenty-four (24) hour requirement may be fulfilled by self-study with test
District of Columbia Learn More A license issued shall expire at 12:00 midnight of December 31 of each odd-numbered year. An applicant for renewal of a license shall submit proof pursuant to § 4306.10 of having completed twenty (20) hours of approved continuing education credit obtained within the two (2) year period preceding the date the license expires. "Current CPR certification for healthcare providers at the basic level; Two (2) hours of infection control training; One (1) hour of ethics in an approved continuing education program; Two (2) hours of continuing education on cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on patients or clients who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, gender nonconforming, queer, or question their sexual orientation or gender identity and expression (“LGBTQ”) meeting the requirements of D.C. Official Code § 3-1205.10 (b)(5); and At least ten percent (10%) of the total required continuing education shall be in the subjects determined by the Director as public health priorities of the District every five (5) years or less frequently, as deemed appropriate by the Director, with notice of the subject matter published in the D.C. Register. The Board shall disseminate the identified subjects to its licensees when determined by the Director via electronic communication and through publication on its website." Beginning with the licensure period ending December 31, 2021, the continuing education requirements may be satisfied through approved internet continuing education courses.
Florida Learn More Licensed Dentists are required to renew their license no later than midnight, Eastern Time, on February 28, 2024. Active Dental Hygienists must complete 24 hours of approved Continuing Education (CE) 2 hours Medical Error 2 Hours Domestic Violence (due every third biennium) CPR
Georgia Learn More Licenses shall expire at the close of December 31 in all odd-numbered years. Late renewal allowed from January 1 of the even year following the renewal year through June 30 of the even year following renewal. Twenty-two (22) hours for the two year renewal period. Fifteen (15) of the required hours must be in clinical science Successful completion of CPR. Effective on and after January 1, 2022, one (1) hour of the minimum requirement shall include legal ethics and professionalism in the practice of dental hygiene, which shall include but not be limited to, education and training regarding professional boundaries; unprofessional conduct relating to the commission of acts of sexual intimacy, abuse, misconduct, or exploitation with regard to the practice of dental hygiene; legislative updates and changes to the laws relating to the practice of dental hygiene and rules, policies, and advisory opinions and rulings issued by the Board; professional conduct and ethics; proper billing practices; professional liability; and risk management. Effective on and after January 1, 2024, two (2) hours of the minimum requirement shall include education and training regarding infection control in the practice of dental hygiene, which shall include education and training regarding dental unit water lines. The COVID-19 pandemic policy for CE requirements for Dentists and Dental Hygienists, which was adopted for the 2020-2021 biennium and extended to the 2022-2023 biennium has expired. This policy previously permitted that portion of a licensee’s CE hours which were required to be “in-person at an on-site course or seminar to be completed via live, instructor-led virtual courses or seminars.” For the 2024-2025 biennium, the CE requirements for Dentists and Dental Hygienists have returned to the requirements of Rules 150-3-.09 and 150-5.05, respectively. CE hours must be completed as prescribed by Rule. RESUMING JANUARY 1, 2024, FOR THE 2024-2025 BIENNIUM, “LIVE, INSTRUCTOR-LED VIRTUAL COURES OR SEMINARS” WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED IN LIEU OF THAT PORTION OF THE CE REQUIREMENT REQUIRED TO BE COMPLETED “IN-PERSON AT AN ON-SITE COURSE OR SEMINAR.”
Hawaii Learn More All Licenses regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by December 31 of every odd-numbered year. Dental Hygienists are required to complete 20 hours of CE pursuant to HAR §16-79-142 Two (2) hours of ethics training, Basic Life Support (“BLS”) for Healthcare Providers course approved by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association. Dental professionals administering general anesthesia or moderate sedation shall be required to complete the Advanced Cardiac Life Support (“ACLS”) course or if treating pediatric patients, the Pediatric Advanced Life Support (“PALS”) course; provided that both courses shall be completed if the dentist is treating pediatric patients and minors thirteen years or older Virtual CEs will be accepted for this renewal period. These do not need to be synchronous courses. On November 21, 2022, the Board of Dentistry (“Board”) voted to extend its blanket waiver allowing for acceptance of all continuing education (“CE”) courses completed through virtual means due to undue hardship from the pandemic, pursuant to Hawaii Administrative Rules (“HAR”) §16-79-147. This exemption will only be applied towards the required CE course hours for the biennial renewal period of January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023.
Idaho Learn More To renew a dental hygiene license, each licensee shall submit a properly com- pleted renewal application and the appropriate biennial license fee to the board prior to March 31 of each odd-numbered calendar year. As of July 1, 2021, all active status dental hygienists will be required to report thirty (30) hours of continuing education during the biennial renewal period. This is an increase of six (6) total hours every two years. Dental hygienists holding an extended access endorsement will no longer be required to report the four (4) additional continuing education credits to maintain the endorsement. RDH with Extended Access License: Four of the credits must be in the specific practice areas of medical emergencies, local anesthesia, oral pathology, care and treatment of geriatric, medically compromised or disabled patients and treatment of children.
Illinois Learn More A prerenewal period is the 36 months preceding September 30 of the year of the renewal. Each person who applies for renewal of a license as a dental hygienist shall have completed 36 hours of CE relevant to the practice of dental hygiene during the prerenewal period. A dentist or dental hygienist shall provide proof of current Basic Life Support (BLS) certification intended for health care providers at the time of renewal Beginning January 1, 2020, all licensees are required to complete 1 hour of continuing education specific to Sexual Harassment prevention. Licensees who prescribe controlled substances shall complete 3 hours on Safe Opioid Prescribing Practices. With respect to the requirement that a public health dental hygienist have additional structured courses in dental education in advanced areas specific to public health dentistry, education in advanced areas specific to public health dentistry must include emergency procedures for medically compromised patients (5 hours), pharmacology (5 hours), medical recordkeeping procedures (4 hours), geriatric dentistry (5 hours), pediatric dentistry (5 hours), and pathology (5 hours) "CE credit may be earned for completion of an individual study course (correspondence, audio or video course) sponsored by an approved sponsor. The courses shall include a test that the licensee must pass to obtain credit. No more than 50% of the required CE credit hours during a prerenewal period may be acquired through correspondence courses. CE credit may be earned from teleconferencing courses with a moderator present given by an Illinois approved sponsor."
Indiana Learn More Dental Hygienist's licenses expire on March 1st of even numbered years. The next renewal date is March 1, 2024 Dental Hygienists are required to have completed nineteen (19) hours of continuing education Only two (2) hours for basic life support may be applied toward the credit hour requirement during each renewal period Two (2) hour course which covers Ethics, Professional Responsibility and the Indiana Statutes and Administrative Rules per renewal period Online courses are acceptable to fulfill one-half the continuing education requirement for dentists and dental hygienists. The course must be approved by one of the accrediting bodies.
Iowa Learn More All dental licenses, faculty permits, moderate sedation permits and general anesthesia permits expire on August 31 of every even-numbered year. Certification of completion of 30 hours of continuing education or an approved exemption. CPR Required for renewal – can claim up to 3 hours Infection Control - Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of infection control standards as required by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Iowa Jurisprudence - Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years Abuse Identification and Reporting Training - Effective July 1, 2019, licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa, must complete training through the Department of Human Services and renew the training every 3 years thereafter. Prior to July 1, 2019, the training was valid for 5 years.
Kansas Learn More All even numbered licensees will renew in even numbered years. All odd numbered licensees will renew in odd numbered years. The license renewal period is from October 1 to December 1 Hygienists will need 30 hours of CE, including 1 hour of ethics, since December 1st of the last renewal, or 15 hours if this is the first renewal. One (1) hour of ethics Up to 4 hours in CPR training may be used toward your CE renewal requirement There is no limit on the number of CE hours that may be taken online.
Kentucky Learn More All dental hygiene license​s issued by the Kentucky Board of Dentistry expire on December 31 of even numbered years. All dentists and dental hygienists are required to earn 30 hours of continuing education during their two-year license period. A Public Health Registered Dental Hygienist shall: During each renewal cycle, successfully complete a live three (3) hour course that has been approved by the board on the identification and prevention of potential medical emergencies that shall include, at a minimum, the following topics: - Medical history, including American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) classifications of physical status; - Recognition of common medical emergency situations, symptoms, and possible outcomes; - Office emergency protocols; and - Prevention of emergency situations during dental treatments. Be required to complete at least five (5) hours of continuing education in the area of public health or public dental health during each renewal cycle At least ten of these hours must be taken in a live interactive format
Louisiana Learn More All renewing licensees must report their completed continuing education no later than December 31. Each dental hygienist shall complete a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education during each renewal period Dental hygienists will be awarded three clinical credit hours for successful completion of cardiopulmonary resuscitation course “C,” basic life support for healthcare providers as defined by the American Heart Association or the Red Cross professional rescue course 8 hours of clinical courses pertaining to the actual delivery of dental or dental hygiene services to patients that may be done in person, online or via correspondence; if done online or via correspondence the courses must require the successful completion of a written examination at the conclusion of the course.
Maine Learn More The biennial license term begins January 1 of even numbered years and ends December 31st of odd numbered years. All licenses may be renewed sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date. Dental Hygienists and Faculty Dental Hygienists: Thirty (30) Credit Hours Required for License Renewal Current CPR certification "There is no credit hour limit on Distance learning activities such as online courses or webinars with verification and passage of an exit examination. No more than ten (10) credit hours can be claimed in any one activity or any combination of activities including Distance learning without exit examination. A licensee may claim continuing education credit for distance learning activities such as online courses and webinars in which an exit examination was not taken."
Maryland Learn More The period for completing continuing education requirements extends for a 2-year period from January 1 through December 31 of the following year A licensee seeking renewal shall complete not less than 30 full hours of continuing education. "A licensee shall maintain cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification 2 hours of infection control for each renewal cycle 2-hour Board-approved course on Abuse and Neglect as it Relates to Maryland Law. Must be completed by dentists and dental hygienists every other renewal cycle. The course must contain a Maryland law component Proper Prescribing and Disposal of Prescription Drugs: 2-hour course. Must be Board-approved. Must be completed by dentists every other renewal cycle." Dentists and dental hygienists may earn up to 17-hours for self-study activities per renewal cycle. Webinars that are “designed to enhance the licensee’s clinical knowledge and ability to treat dental patients” are acceptable.
Massachusetts Learn More Dental hygienists must have their CEUs completed by March 31st in odd-numbered years. Dental hygienists must complete a minimum of 20 CEUs each 2-year renewal cycle A licensee shall complete continuing education as a condition precedent to the biennial renewal of a license in the following areas: (a) CDC Guidelines; and (b) Continuous certification in CPR/AED, or BLS A dental hygienist may earn a maximum of ten CEUs per renewal cycle by completing an individual study course (home study, on-line, correspondence, audio or video). All such courses must include a test, which the licensee shall pass to obtain credit.
Michigan Learn More Every three years. RDHs are required to complete a minimum of 36 credit hours of CE over a three-year period. "The 36 hours of continuing education must include all of the following: At least 2 hours in pain and symptom management. One hour in dental ethics and jurisprudence with inclusion of delegation of duties to allied dental personnel. One hour in infection control, which must include sterilization of hand pieces, personal protective equipment, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s infection control" "Complete a minimum of 12 hours of the required continuing education hours by attending synchronous, live courses or programs that provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants including, but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, workshops. No more than 18 of the 36 hours of the required continuing education hours may be asynchronously, noninteractive."
Minnesota Learn More The initial professional development cycle begins on the date licensure is granted by the board and ends on the last day of the licensee's birth month in either an even-numbered or odd-numbered year that corresponds with the licensee's year of birth. A biennial professional development cycle coincides with the biennial renewal period. Each biennial renewal cycle consists of a 24-month period beginning on the first day of the month following expiration of the previous cycle. Dental Hygienists must complete 25 total hours every 2 years (15 Minimum Fundamental Hours and 10 max Elective Hours) Licensees must maintain continuous CPR certification. Course must be a healthcare provider level course (BLS) taken through only the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association. Each licensee must complete an infection control course during each biennial cycle period. The self-assessment is based on the core subject areas. This activity is required for each biennial cycle and is worth one (1) fundamental credit. "Fundamental activities for an initial or biennial cycle must directly relate to clinical dental services to patients. Fundamental activities include Clinical subjects that are covered through seminars, webinars or lectures. Elective activities include self-study directly relating to dentistry"
Mississippi Learn More The reporting period is two (2) years. At its 02/01/2013 meeting, the Board amended item number 1 of Board Regulation 41 to stipulate that the continuing education reporting period runs from January 1 through December 31 of each year, i.e., the reporting period was changed from a renewal based cycle to a calendar year based cycle.This change in the continuing education reporting period went into effect 01/01/2014 Dental Hygienists must obtain a minimum of twenty (20) hours of continuing education for the two-year cycle. No more than four (4) hours per year on the subject of CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation) shall be allowed toward the two-year, twenty-hour requirement. Continuing education credit will be given for computer-based courses, video courses, audio courses, reading, and/or correspondence/home study courses on a limited basis. Effective with the Board's 05/18/2012 amendment, dentists and dental hygienists are limited to a maximum of twenty-five percent (25%) of this type of continuing education per two-year continuing education reporting period. At its 10/16/2015 meeting, the Board amended Section 6 of Board Regulation 41 to effect an exemption to the 25% maximum for webinars providing live interaction among the course presenter and participants. Furthermore, a post-study examination must be a part of any of the courses, including the aforementioned exempted webinars
Missouri Learn More A two (2)-year period with starting dates of December 1 of even years, through November 30 of even years In order to renew a license, each dental hygienist shall submit satisfactory evidence of completion of thirty (30) hours of continuing education during the two (2)-year period immediately preceding the renewal period
Montana Learn More Starting April 15, 2015, licensees shall complete continuing education within a three-year renewal cycle Dental Hygienists are required to complete 36 credit hours every 3 years. Dental Hygienists who have a limited access permit must complete an additional 12 continuing education hours.
Nebraska Learn More On or before March 1 of each odd-numbered year, a dental hygienist must complete continuing education Each dental hygienist holding an active license must complete at least 30 hours of acceptable continuing education hours during the preceding 24-month period "A minimum of 2 hours in a renewal period must be obtained in infection control continuing education A minimum of 2 hours in a renewal period must be obtained in each area for which a licensee holds an expanded function permit" A maximum of 10 hours each in a renewal period may be obtained through home study.
Nevada Learn More All renewals must be submitted to the Board office on/before June 30 of even years Each dental hygienist licensed to practice in the State of Nevada must annually complete at least 15 hours of instruction in approved courses of continuing education or biennially complete at least 30 hours of instruction in approved courses of continuing education "A dental hygienist must annually complete at least 2 hours in the clinical subject of infection control or biennially complete at least 4 hours Each licensee must complete a course of instruction, within 2 years after initial licensure, relating to the medical consequences of an act of terrorism that involves the use of a weapon of mass destruction." Not more than 50 percent of the number of hours of continuing education for courses completed via home study, on-line study, self-study or journal study through correspondence, webinar, compact disc or digital video disc
New Hampshire Learn More Beginning on February 22, 2023, licenses issued will expire two years from the date of issuance, on the last day of the month in the month the license was issued. All dental hygienists with an active New Hampshire license shall complete a minimum of 20 CEUs of continuing education per biennium "At least 2 CEUs shall be earned in infection control in a live or online course which includes the Center for Disease Control Prevention and Control Guidelines and Recommendations in its syllabus Starting April 1, 2020, at least 2 CEUs shall be earned in Medical Emergency Training." A licensee shall receive credit for up to 50% of the required CEUs by participating in audio-visual or online programs or live webinars which require the successful completion of a written examination by the licensee to be scored by the provider of such programs.
New Jersey Learn More Every two years. All licensed dental hygienists shall submit a certification verifying the completion of 20 hours of continuing education every two years at the time of license renewal "To renew for the January 2022- December 2023 biennial registration period, hygienists must have completed one hour in prescription opioid drugs, including risks and signs of opioid abuse addiction and diversion, as well as one hour of continuing education in preventing and controlling infectious diseases and managing personnel health and safety concerns in dental settings. Those courses must be completed prior to December 31, 2021. To renew for the January 1, 2024-December 31, 2025 biennial period, hygienists will be required to complete all six hours of the required continuing education, prior to renewing in December 2023. This includes three hours in CPR." A maximum of 20 hours of continuing education credit shall be given for any form of written or electronic media distance learning courses. A written or electronic media distance learning course shall include a written post-test, and such test shall be retained by the licensee as an additional record of completion of the course. Webinars shall not be considered electronic media distance learning courses if they are live (not previously recorded) and synchronous (the instructor and licensee interact with each other in real time).
New Mexico Learn More After the initial license period, licenses expire every three years on June 30 Dental Hygienists: 45 hours of continuing education are required during each triennial renewal cycle "At least 1 hour of INFECTION CONTROL Current CPR/BLS (cannot be on-line)" Dental Hygienists: A max of 30 hrs can be online, webinars or self study.
New York Learn More Each dental hygienist is required to register triennially with the department to practice in New York and shall comply with the provisions of the mandatory continuing education requirements Dental hygienists are required to complete 24 contact hours of continuing education during each three-year registration period Dentists and dental hygienists must also complete a State approved infection control course every 4 years Beginning on July 1, 2008, dental hygienists are required to complete at least seven-twelfths of their hours via live courses (14 of the 24 contact hours required for a three-year registration). The balance of the remaining hours may be completed through appropriate self-study courses.
North Carolina Learn More The one-year period spans one calendar year (January to December being a calendar year) Every year, dental hygienists must complete 6 hours of continuing education Both dentists and hygienists are required to maintain current CPR The Board has determined that hygienists may obtain any or all of their required 6 hours online or through correspondence courses which have post-tests and issue certificates of completion.
North Dakota Learn More Renewal deadline for all dentists and dental hygienists is December 31st of ODD numbered years Dental Hygienists are required to take 16 hours of continuing education during each biennial renewal cycle "A cardiopulmonary resuscitation course; webinar CPR courses must have a hands-on component. A minimum of two hours of infection control education. A minimum of two hours of ethics and/or jurisprudence. General anesthesia and moderate or minimal sedation permit holders must include four hours related to sedation or anesthesia. Registered dental assistants and dental hygienists holding a permit for Dental Anesthesia Assistant or Restorative Functions must include two hours related to the permit. For a RDH practicing under general supervision, two hours related to medical emergencies. (effective July 1, 2022)" "Self-study: One half of the required hours for renewal of license and registration may be obtained thru self-study. Self-study is defined as an education process designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject without involvement of a proctor or interaction of a third party. Self-study programs may be pre-recorded audio programs, self-paced digital courses, or self-paced printed material. Payment for a course and the certificate of completion are required in the event of an audit. Continuing education hours may consist of a maximum of one-half self-study and the remainder must come from online webinars (recorded, not live) or classroom style education. Live Webinars: The Board determined that a live webinar is equivalent to classroom education where CE is concerned. A live webinar is not considered equivalent to online/self-study education because live webinars allow for interaction with the presenter and ability to ask questions. Live webinars are by the nature of the experience, the existence of a third party and the inclusion of proof of attendance. CPR may be obtained via a webinar but the course must include an actual hands-on component."
Ohio Learn More Each person who is licensed to practice dentistry in Ohio shall, on or before the first day of January of each even-numbered year, register with the state dental board "Effective April 6, 2023, House Bill 509 reduces the number of required continuing education hours for dentists and dental hygienists: Dental hygienists shall complete not less than 20 continuing education hours each license renewal period. Previous law required dental hygienists to complete 24 CE hours each license renewal period. Therefore, the minimum required continuing education hours for this license renewal cycle (12/31/2023) drops to 20 hours." Each person licensed to practice as a dental hygienist shall be currently certified to perform basic life-support procedures by having successfully completed a basic life-support training course
Oklahoma Learn More The reporting period is changing from a 3 year reporting period to a 2 year. The current reporting period is July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2023. "Effective January 1, 2020 the CE hours will be changing to the following: Hygienists - Will need to complete 20 hrs instead of 30" "Below are required: BLS Ethics" No more than ten (10) hours may be completed online. Interactive classes or webinar classes may, at the discretion of the Board, count as in-person.
Oregon Learn More A licensure year for dental hygienists is October 1 through September 30. "Each dental hygienist must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years. An Expanded Practice Permit Dental Hygienist shall complete a total of 36 hours of continuing education every two years." "Three (3) hours of medical emergencies every renewal cycle ​Two (2) hours of infection control (Please note, if using OSHA your certificate must delineate the difference in hours between OSHA and infection control) every renewal cycle. All licensees are required to maintain at a minimum a current Healthcare Provider BLS/CPR or equivalent certification. ​Effective January 1, 2021, all licensees are required to complete at least two hours of continuing education related to cultural competency." Correspondence courses, videotapes, distance learning courses or similar self-study course, provided that the course provides a certificate of completion to the dentist. The certificate of completion should list the dentist’s name, course title, course completion date, course provider name, and continuing education hours completed.
Pennsylvania Learn More April 1 through March 31 (Odd) numbered years. A Dental Hygienist shall complete 20 hours of continuing education credit hours during the preceding biennial period "Of those 20 hours, 2 hours must be Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting A public health dental hygiene practitioner shall complete five of the required 20 hours of continuing education in public health-related courses A dental hygienist who holds a local anesthesia permit shall complete 3 of the required 20 hours of continuing education in courses related to the administration of local anesthesia, including pharmacology or other related courses Section 9.1(a)(2) of ABC-MAP generally requires that all prescribers and dispensers complete at least two (2) hours of continuing education in pain management, the identification of addiction or the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids (the Opioid CE)." A maximum of 50% of the required credit hours may be taken through individual study.
Rhode Island Learn More Every licensed dental hygienist who desires to renew his or her license must file with the Board before the first (1st) of May in each even-numbered year. Continuing education is reported biennially. The biennial accrual period for continuing education is July 1st. Dental hygienist and public health dental hygienist licensees shall obtain a total of twenty (20) continuing education credits every two years "All dental hygienists practicing in a dental setting shall receive a minimum of one (1) hour per year of training on the CDC Infection Control Guidelines All dental hygienists practicing in a dental setting shall hold a current certificate of completion in Basic Life Support (BLS) for the Healthcare Provider that includes a hands-on skill component and conforms to the current American Heart Association Guidelines Update for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Emergency Cardiovascular Care (ECC) offered by any accredited agency approved by the Board." Successful completion of a post-test is necessary to obtain credit for self-instructional courses.
South Carolina Learn More Continuing education (CE) is a requirement of renewal per S.C. Regulation 39-5(F). Licensees renewing for the first time are exempt from the CE requirements. Current CE cycle is January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2025 All dental hygienists will need fourteen (14) hours of continuing education (CE) completed for biennial renewal "Two (2) hours must be sterilization and infection control CPR recertification must be completed once every three years" Of the required fourteen (14) hours, no more than half of the required CE hours can be attained through online or computerized courses. Interactive webinars are considered live or in-person CE hours and not subject to the fifty percent (50%) restriction.
South Dakota Learn More Every five years of licensure or registration, each licensee or registrant shall provide the board evidence, of a nature suitable to the board that a licensee or registrant has attended, or participated in an amount of board approved continuing education or continuing competency as shall be required by the board Dental Hygienists must earn 75 hours of continuing education in every 5-year CE cycle "A Dental Hygienist must have documented at least five hours of continuing education in dental radiography in a five-year period Dental Hygienists must maintain a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) card" "Home Study: Limited to 30 hours maximum in a 5-year CE cycle Home study courses or lectures completed on one’s own time without leaving your home or office. You must demonstrate your participation and knowledge of the course or lecture through a certificate of completion from the continuing education provider. If the course you are taking utilizes technology in any way that is interactive, you may consider that course to fall under the appropriate category- Clinical, Radiography, Practice Management, etc. This includes all courses that are conducted with an instructor via webinar, Skype, Zoom, Go To Meeting or other technology that allows for participant interaction. If your course consists of a DVD or video that you view and does not include the ability to interact or ask questions of the instructor, this should be entered as Home Study."
Tennessee Learn More Dental hygienists are required to complete continuing education during the two calendar year cycle (January 1 of an odd year - December 31 of an even year) Dental hygienists are all required to fulfill 30 hours of continuing education during the two calendar year cycle "Current CPR A minimum of 2 of the required 30 biennial hours must be obtained in the area of chemical dependency education" Beginning January 1, 2011, dental hygienists can obtain no more than 50% of their continuing education via online or web-based. This requirement does not apply to dentists and registered dental assistants. Beginning July 1, 2022, a live interactive webinar is to be considered in-person continuing education. This amendment to the statute defines a "live interactive webinar" as an internet based broadcast in which viewers may interact with a presenter in real time.
Texas Learn More The expiration date will be based on the licensee's birth month and will be staggered to a biennial renewal affecting licensees due to renew by 10/31/2018 and there after All Texas licensees holding an active license to practice in Texas must biennially collect a minimum of twenty four (24) hours of appropriate continuing education "CPR As part of the 24-hour requirement, a course in human trafficking prevention approved by the executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission must be completed." "Please be advised that your in-classroom setting CE hours can be completed as Live Interactive Webinars (you can ask and answer questions) through one of our board approved providers. Up to 8 hours of coursework may be self-study. Examples of self-study courses include correspondence courses, video courses, audio courses, and reading courses."
Utah Learn More Utah Dental and Dental Hygienist licenses renew every two years, on May 31 of even-numbered years All licensed dentists and dental hygienists shall complete 30 hours of qualified continuing professional education during each two year period of licensure a maximum of 15 hours per two-year period may be recognized for continuing education that is provided online or through home study with an examination and a completion certificate
Vermont Learn More Vermont Dental licenses expire every two years, on September 30 of odd-numbered years Dental hygienists must document completion of no fewer than 18 hours of Board-approved continuing professional education during the two-year licensing period preceding renewal. All dental hygienists licensed or registered in the State of Vermont shall as a condition of every biennial license or registration renewal show evidence of having completed a course in emergency office procedures
Virginia Learn More Beginning in January 2022, an active or inactive dental hygiene license shall be renewed in the licensee's birth month each year In order to renew an active license, a dental hygienist shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of approved continuing education. Continuing education hours in excess of the number required for renewal may be transferred or credited to the next renewal year for a total of not more than 15 hours. A dental hygienist shall be required to maintain evidence of successful completion of a current hands-on course in basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation for health care providers A dental hygienist who monitors patients under general anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate sedation shall complete four (4) hours every two years of approved continuing education directly related to monitoring of such anesthesia or sedation as part of the hours required for licensure renewal Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio and video presentations.
Washington Learn More Once renewed, the renewed dental hygiene license will expire yearly on the licensee's birth date Dental hygienists are required to complete 15 clock hours of continuing education (CE) annually Maintain a current basic life support (BLS) for health care providers certification There is no limit to online CE, but only 30 minutes for every one hour completed counts toward continuing education. Example: You complete 30 hours of continuing education online; you may use 15 hours toward your required 63 hours of continuing education. Live interactive Webinars are specifically indicated as allowable in WAC 246-817-440 (4)(a) of the rule. Full credit is allowed for live Webinars. There is no limit on the number of hours for live Webinars. Full credit is allowed for recorded interactive webinars. WAC 246-817-440 (4)(b)(i) is currently being finalized to include this exception.
West Virginia Learn More Each dentist and dental hygienist shall submit to the Board by February 1, 2024, and every two years thereafter documentation of satisfactory completion of the required hours of continuing education during the previous two years Each licensed dental hygienist shall complete biennially not less than 20 hours of continuing education. "At least 2 hours of continuing education shall be related to any one or combination of the following subjects during each continuing education reporting period: infection control and/or occupational hazards; oral effects of tobacco use; or oral effects of substance abuse. A current certification for a comprehensive basic life support course for a health care provider that includes: resuscitation on an adult, child, and infant; two-person rescuer; barrier mask or bag for ventilation; foreign body airway obstruction; and automated external defibrillation" 80% of the required hours may be obtained by supervised self-instruction. Supervised self-instruction shall include a testing mechanism supplied by a permanent or Board approved biennial sponsor.
Wisconsin Learn More Dental Hygienists shall renew by October 1 of the odd-numbered year following initial licensure and every 2 years thereafter A dental hygienist shall complete 12 credit hours of continuing education related to the clinical practice of dental hygiene or the practice of medicine during the 2−year period immediately preceding the renewal date Not less than 2 of the 12 credit hours shall include training in infection control The credit hours may be satisfied by independent study, correspondence, or internet programs or courses.
Wyoming Learn More With the practice act changes effective in 2021, licenses are now renewed every two years instead of annually. The current renewal is January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023 Sixteen (16) hours are due every two years You can take your CE in person or online. There is no limit regarding how many CE you may take online.

Nationally Approved PACE Program
Provider for FAGD/MAGD credit.
Approval does not imply acceptance by
any regulatory authority or AGD endorsement.
11/1/2021 to 10/31/2027
Provider ID# 208978